Testing bei agiler Produktentwicklung

Test Angst

Many products won’t be tested at all during concept or development phase or only at a very late stage. One of the main reasons is fear of damaging one’s brand by confronting customers with products that do not meet the company’s usual quality standard. Especially larger established enterprises think of product tests as jeopardizing market reputation. Based on this angst companies more or less intentionally abandon any chance for learning potential of agile product development (see also our blog post “Wasted potentials of agile product development”.

In practice such a fear is ungrounded. Everybody who was involved in a product test will confirm the following points:

  1. Users are capable of telling apart tests from the real world as long as it is halfway clear from a start that is all about a test.
  2. Users who take part in a test are gladly willing to give feedback, no matter what the level of maturity of a product looks like or how relevant it is for themselves. They value that their opinion is heard and are most often happier customers with a more intensive relationship.
  3. Raw, unfinished prototypes are the best choice to find out about fundamental problems with products since they do not distract from core functionalities and easily induce critique.

Negative effects of product testing are generally only possible, if users are confronted with a development within the normal live environment without the proper framing, thus not being able to differentiate between normal product and test. But even then the possible negative impact is often overstated. As long as the agile principle of shipping only closed, finished user stories is followed, users don’t have a reason to be any more negative that with finished features (which are never finished anyway).

Those in angst about “too early” testing have all reasons to get in touch with all the established and easy testing options around – at best in form of small, flexible experiments in order to gain know-how fast and sustainably. Simply give it a try! It is crucial to set the bar for testing as low as possible so that every product manager is not even thinking anymore whether to use testing or not. Companies following this path will be rewarded in two dimensions: One, they come into a position to test at all. Two, they can test a lot more sophisticated. The latter is especially important since agile learning is nurtured by testing the underlying critical assumptions and not the product itself. The earlier the test, the more it will abstract from the product and may take totally different forms.

Photo by kennymatic on flickr under CC License

Testing bei agiler Produktentwicklung

Test Angst

Viele Produkte werden während der Konzept- oder Entwicklungsphase überhaupt nicht oder erst in einem sehr späten Stadium getestet. Einer der Hauptgründe hierfür ist die Angst, den Kunden ein Produkt zu zeigen, das dem gewohnten Qualitätsstandard nicht genügt und die Marke beschädigt. Speziell große, etablierte Unternehmen glauben, mit Produkttests Reputation am Markt zu verspielen. Aus dieser Angst heraus wird also mehr oder weniger bewusst auf das Lernpotential agiler Produktentwicklung verzichtet (siehe hierzu auch unseren Blog-Post „Verschenktes Potential agiler Produktentwicklung“).

In der Praxis sind diese Befürchtungen unbegründet. Jeder, der einmal einen Produkttest erlebt hat, wird die folgenden Punkte bestätigen können:

  1. Nutzer sind in der Lage, einen Test von der wirklichen Welt zu unterscheiden, solange nur vom Start weg halbwegs klar gemacht wird, dass es sich um einen Test handelt.
  2. Nutzer, die an Tests teilnehmen, geben unabhängig vom Reifegrad der Entwicklung und der Relevanz für die eigenen Bedürfnisse gerne Feedback. Sie wissen es zu schätzen, dass ihre Meinung gehört wird, und sind in der Regel zufriedenere Kunden mit einer intensiveren Bindung.
  3. Rohe, unfertige Prototypen sind die beste Wahl, um fundamentale Probleme mit Produkten herauszufinden, da sie nicht von den Kernfunktionen ablenken und zu Kritik ermuntern.

Einen negativen Effekt von Produkttests kann es generell nur geben, wenn Nutzer unkommentiert mit einem Entwicklungsstand innerhalb der normalen live-Umgebung konfrontiert werden und deshalb nicht in der Lage sind, zwischen Test und wirklichem Produkt zu unterscheiden. Aber selbst dann wird der mögliche negative Effekt oft stark überschätzt. Solange das agile Prinzip befolgt wird, klare abgeschlossene Userstorys live zu stellen, haben Nutzer grundsätzlich nicht mehr Grund negative Gefühle aufzubauen als bei fertigen Features (die niemals fertig sind).

Wer Angst vor „zu frühen“ Tests hat, hat also allen Grund, sich intensiver mit der Vielzahl bewährter, einfacher Test-Methoden auseinanderzusetzen – am besten mit kleinen, flexiblen Experimenten, um das Know-how schnell und nachhaltig aufzubauen. Einfach mal ausprobieren! Entscheidend ist, dass die Hürden für das Testen so gering wie möglich sind, damit jeder Produktmanager gar nicht mehr überlegt, ob überhaupt getestet werden soll. Unternehmen, die das tun, werden dann doppelt belohnt: Zum einen kommen sie überhaupt in die Lage testen zu können, zum anderen können sie differenzierter testen. Letzteres ist besonders wichtig, denn das agile Lernen lebt schließlich davon, die hinter dem Produkt liegenden kritischen Annahmen zu testen und nicht das Produkt selber. Gerade in einer frühen Entwicklungsphase abstrahieren effektive Tests vom Produkt selber und können vollkommen unterschiedliche Formen haben.

Foto von kennymatic auf flickr unter CC Lizenz